Indian Geotechnical Society, Chennai Chapter   Advisory Committee


INDIAN GEOTECHNICAL SOCIETY, IGS, was established in 1948 with the purpose of advancement and dissemination of knowledge in different fields of geotechnical engineering. The Madras Chapter of IGS was established in 1987 and later named as Chennai Chapter. Chennai Chapter ( has more than 900 life members including about 120 members of parent body. The chapter has been organizing seminars and symposiums every year with emphasis on field practices. The National Conference IGC-1983 was held at IIT Madras. The Chennai Chapter conducted IGC-1996 at Anna University and IGC-2006 at IIT Madras. The Chapter also organised the 4th Indian Young Geotechnical Engineers Conference (4IYGEC) on May 17-18, 2013 at IIT Madras. The Sixth International Symposium, 6IGS-Chennai 2015, on Disaster Mitigation in Special Geoenvironmental Conditions was organized by the Chapter and Indian Institute of Technology Madras during January 21-23, 2015, with the support of Asian Technical Committee on Geotechnology for Natural Hazards (ATC-3) of ISSMGE. IGS Bangalore Chapter and IGS Kochi Chapter were the co-organisers of the symposium.

Indian Institute of Technology, Madras, Chennai


Indian Institute of Technology Madras (, one among the foremost institutes of national importance in higher technological education, basic and applied research, was established in 1959. IIT Madras is a residential institute with nearly 550 faculty, 8000 students and 1250 administrative and supporting staff and is a self-contained campus located in a beautiful wooded land of about 250 hectares. It has established itself as a premier centre for teaching, research and industrial consultancy in the country.

College of Engineering Guindy, Anna University

Anna University

College of Engineering, Guindy in Chennai, India, is one of the oldest engineering and technical institutions in India, having been established in 1794 as a survey school, and 1858 as a Civil Engineering School and was then re christened as College of Engineering in 1861, under Madras University with the inclusion of the Mechanical Engineering course. Today it is one of the four constituent colleges of Anna University that was established in 1978 as a unitary type of University. Since December 2001, Anna University has become a large, highly renowned Affiliated University, having brought into its fold more than 500 Self-financing Engineering Colleges six Government Colleges and three Government-aided Engineering colleges located in various parts of Tamilnadu State. College of Engineerig Guindy started the first post graduate course in Soil mechanics in the year 1958.


Prof. Ajjarapu Srirama Rao, President, IGS New Delhi
Prof. G. N. Gandhi, Immediate Past President, IGS New Delhi
Er. Jai Bhagwan, Hon. Secretary, IGS New Delhi
Prof. S. V. Ramaswamy, Anna University (Retd.), Chennai
Prof. V.S. Raju, Formerly Director, IIT Delhi
Dr. V. V. S. Rao, Nagadi Consultants
Er. Murli Iyenger, EIL (Retd.), Chennai
Prof. Babu T. Jose, AISAT, Kochi
Er. Shankar Guha, Simplex Infra Ltd, Chennai
Er. S. Kanappan, L&T GeoStructure
Prof. S. R. Gandhi, IIT Madras
Prof. K. Rajagopal, IIT Madras
Dr. K. S. Ramakrishna, DFI of India
Prof. T. G. Sitharam, IISc, Bangalore
Prof. G. L. Sivakumar Babu, IISc, Bangalore
Prof. H. N. Ramesh, UVCE, Bangalore
Prof. S. K. Prasad, SJCE , Mysore
Dr. B. K. Bansal, MoES, New Delhi
Er. G. Prabhakar Gundapalli, NPCIL, Mumbai
Prof. Paul D. Arumairaj, IGS Coimbatore
Er. M. D. Nair, IGS Kochi
Prof. K. Balan, IGS Trivandrum

Organising Committee

Prof. A. Boominathan, IIT Madras
Prof. V.K. Stalin, CEG, Anna University
Dr. V. Balakumar, Simplex Infra. Ltd
Prof. R.G. Robinson , IIT Madras
Er. I.V. Anirudhan, Geotechnical Solutions
Prof. K. Premalatha, CEG, Anna University
Prof. M. Muttharam , CEG, Anna University
Chairman - Technical Committee:
Prof. K. Ilamparuti, Anna University
Dr. Subhadeep Banerjee, IIT Madras
Chairman - Publication Committee:
Prof. G. R. Dodagoudar, IIT Madras
Dr. A. Dali Naidu, IIT Madras
Chairman - Sponsorship, Exhibition and Publicity Committee:
Prof. S. R. Gandhi, IIT Madras
Er. Y. Hari Krishna, Keller Ground Engg
Chairman - Accommodation, Transport and Food Committee:
Dr. T. Thyagaraj, IIT Madras
Chairman - Registration and Reception Committee:
Dr. V. B. Maji, IIT Madras

Dr. D. Thirunakkarasu, HRS (Retd.)
Dr. C. V. Prasad, Geomarine Consultants, Chennai
Dr. Kumar Pitchumani, AECOM, Chennai
Er. P. N. Ravi, Geo Foundations & Structures, Chennai
Dr. S. S. Chandrasekharan, VIT, Vellore
Mr. Mohan Ramanathan, ACT, Chennai
Dr. P. T. Ravichandran, SRM University, Chennai
Dr. G. Janardhanan, NITTTR, Chennai
Er. M. Muthuramalingam, TNSCB, Chennai
Dr. Anil Joseph, IGS Kochi
Dr. S. Karthigeyan, CEG, Anna University, Chennai
Er. K. P. Satyamurthy, TNPWD, Chennai
Er. S. N. Rajan, L&T-ECC, Chennai
Er. G. Padmanabhan, IGCAR, Kalpakkam
Dr. S. V. Sivapriya, SSN Engg College, Chennai
Dr. P. Kamatchi, SERC, Chennai
Dr. K. Muthukumaran, IGS Trichy
Er. Ratnavel, Sceba, Madurai
Dr. R. Sanjaykumar, TCE, Madurai


IGC 2016 offers geotechnologists and geoenvironmentalists a great opportunity to present their works and case studies
Web site maintained by Indian Geotechnical Society, Chennai Chapter
Copyright © 2015 IGS Chennai Chapter. All rights reserved.